The Rothesay Tennis Club is located in the heart of Rothesay New Brunswick. We have four Har-Tru courts nestled among the trees. There are plenty of activities to suit everyone’s tennis game. Whether you wish to play in a friendly mixed social, take a few lessons, or play on competitive teams, RTC offers all this and more.
Hours of Operation
6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. Seven days a week.
Hours may vary on Holidays and dates of special events.
History of the Club
In 1898 John H Parks deeded a property along the road now called Tennis Court Rd to James F. Robertson. Four red clay courts with nets soon graced the land, with the lines chalked in by hand. In 1902 the Rothesay Lawn Tennis Club held its first annual meeting. Within a year, 66 members served, volleyed and lobbed tennis balls on the dusty courts.
Rupert Turnbull donated a trophy for what became known as the annual Turnbull Cup of round-robin club play, the first handicapped club tournament in all of Canada.
Over the years the courts have switched to different tennis surfaces first starting as red clay, then switching to had court and then back to har-tru which it is now.
In 1915, a 15 year old boy named Hazen Short began to play tennis. Natural talent and constant practice paid off. Four years later, Hazen Short won the provincial triple crown (men's singles, men's doubles, and mixed doubles) and the maritime Doubles championship with Rothesay partner Campbell Mackay. Through his years of playing, he won 44 provincial titles and Maritime championships.